Danco Island

Danco Island was without a doubt the nicest experience I had in Antarctica.
It was a steep hike to reach the top of the Island and for this 45 minute walk they gave me snowshoes. These snowshoes are used on soft snow and it makes me wonder why we didn’t get to use them on our other landings for example at Neko Harbour.
Anyhow it was the first time I wore snowshoes and I had some difficulties to strap them on in the beginning, but once I figured that out, I was ready for my walk up to the top.

The long walk up was all worth it, I passed by Penguins using their penguin highway again and it’s crazy to see how fast they climb up and down like it’s nothing.
On my way I’ve passed by many penguins nesting and laying on their belly, some in the snow others on their nest formed by the rockstones that they use to make it with.

Once on top you really get a magnificent view and with the sun coming out, the color pattern changed the landscape and made it look even more magical than this place already was. Danco Island I will never forget this place.

enjoying the view at Danco Island, not even half way the hike

enjoying the view at Danco Island, not even half way the hike

my snowshoes

my snowshoes

Penguins curious who 's comming to visit this time

Penguins curious who ‘s coming to visit this time

having a wow moment

having a wow moment

dsc00300

icebergs

icebergs

Finally made it on top of Danco Island

Finally made it on top of Danco Island

expedition buddy's (Belgium-Germany Holland)

expedition buddy’s (Belgium-Germany Holland)

Penguins on their nests

Penguins on their nests

observing the magical view and the penguins

observing the magical view and the penguins

img_20161211_163204 img_20161211_161311

 

4 thoughts on “Danco Island

Leave a Reply

