Ruh Ordo Issyk-Kul Lake

About 260 km from Bishkek lays Cholpon Ata at Issyk-Kul lake, the largest lake in Kyrgyzstan and what would become my second trip which Apple Hostel arranged for me.
My own driver, private tour in a 4×4 off we go.
Cholpon Ata is a small resort town in the northern part of Issyk-Kul lake, popular with the locals and the mainly Russian and Kazachian tourists who spend their summer holidays here. It was a hot day so there where a lot of Russian tourists at the Issyk Kul lake beach, since it was to crowdy I didn’t stay for long and went to see a much calmer tourist spot,  Ruh Ordo also directly at the shore of the lake. This is a Cultural Center in open air, a kind of park with elements of various cultures and religions, 5 white chapels standing next to each other, the Buddhist, Jewish, Catholic, Orthodox and Muslim symbolizing the unity of all faiths. It’s very nice spiritual complex.
A little bit further up Cholpon Ata town I visited the Petroglyphs site, I wasn’t really impressed by this site just a pile of rocks with some carvings on it, mostly the same animals like goats, reindeer, camel.
Apparently there are several trails, but since I wasn’t really impressed by the site, maybe because  while I was asking myself what kind of animal is that ? turned out to be none, just graffiti on a stone, a pity that some people destroyed some of these ancient stones. I wouldn’t recommend this site but since the entrance price is almost nothing, you might aswell go and have a look around.
After 30 minutes I was back at the car and my driver looked pretty surprised “already finished?” Yep mate I am let’s go back to Bishkek 🙂

Entrance Ruh Ordo

Entrance Ruh Ordo

A Kyrgyz girl in traditional clothing greeted me and gave me some information about this complex

A Kyrgyz girl in traditional clothing greeted me and gave me some information about this complex

Map of Ruh Ordo Complex

Map of Ruh Ordo Complex

img_20160808_135806

The white Chapels

The white Chapels

c

Catholic chapel

img_20160808_141945

p1070359

img_20160808_141628

img_20160808_141712

Pier in Ruh Ordo complex at Issyk-Kul Lake

img_20160808_142027

Issyk-Kul

Issyk-Kul

Issyk-Kul Beach resort

Issyk-Kul Beach resort

p1070305

“Petroglyphs of Cholpon Ata” information board

p1070304

Mighty Issyk-Kul lake

p1070289 p1070301 p1070293 p1070295

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

