Bangkok

So much to see in Bangkok that I don’t know where to start, what to visit first.
It’s easy to get around in Bangkok by tuk tuks, very cheap and a great experience, we should have this in Europe instead of these expensive taxis. 
First I did a boat tour on the canals, saw how people live near the river. Locals will try to get you on such a tour selling it as a floating market, but I haven’t seen much of that, I’m not even sure untill this day if it was worth to do this boat tour but I got to see how the people live so it was interesting enough. After that some real visiting, started with the temple of Wat Pho with the Reclining Buddha.
The next day I visited the Grand Palace with the temple of the Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew) which again were true masterpieces.
I went in the morning, to escape the crowds, but there was already a lot of people inside, after a few hours I left the palace and leaving was almost harder than getting in, even more people seemed to turned up. Bangkok is just a city with many tourists, not only in the temple complexes but also in the streets. I’m happy to have seen it but I prefer to go to more of the beaten track destinations. I’m not going to write to explain about all the things I saw in the temples, it’s just too much to sum it all up. I saw a lot of gold that’s for sure.
a less popular place, but a nice place to go see is the Golden Mount or Wat Saket, a Buddhist temple on a hill overlooking the city of Bangkok. There are so many temples, that you can’t visit them all if you only in Bangkok for 3 days like I was. One more temple that I did was the temple of the standing Buddha, a huge Buddha of 32 meters long-standing in the middle of the temple complex. Bangkok is Gold and Buddha’s.

River boat tour

River boat tour

P1030934

Reclining Buddha

Reclining Buddha

IMG_2352

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

IMG_2395

one of the temple guards

P1040085

Golden Stupa

P1040107

P1040132

P1040141 P1040143

Golden Mount

Golden Mount

on top of the Golden Mount with the Thai flag

on top of the Golden Mount with the Thai flag

Long standing Buddha

Long standing Buddha

 

Leave a Reply

