Mexico City

Coming with a domestic flight from sunny Cancun where I had booked a stay of 2 weeks to visit the Mexican pyramids and temples in the area of Tulum and Cancun to the big Vibrating capital of Mexico. When I arrived I wish I had stayed in Cancun cause it was pouring rain, streets were flooded, why did I come here ? First of all, it was not all bad there were moments that the sun came out and then it became very hot in an instant.
Besides exploring the city, I also visited the pyramids of Teotihuacan, the sun and moon pyramid are just a one hour drive from the city, but it might take a little longer, because of all the traffic in and around the city. This is when you see that Mexico City is one of the biggest cities in the world.
only the day that I arrived and the last day were rainy days, the rest of my time was great.
The Museo Nacional de Antropologia is an interesting museum with the representation of all the Mexican civilizations and history. Outside are replicas of old temples.
The masterpiece of the museum is the Aztec sun stone calendar.
In the north part of the city I went to see the Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe, it’s a Catholic church complex with more than one church. In the new Basilica you can find the famous Icon of Our Lady of Guadalupe. It’s an important religious pilgrimage site.

The hotel I stayed in which name I will not mention here, was a typical Mexican hotel, more for locals then for tourists, in the city centre close to the central square Plaza de la Constitucion aka “Zocalo”. The last night water was coming from the ceiling, I went to the hallway and the floors there were wet as well, it all came from the floor above my room. Maybe a pipe did burst I didn’t know, I ran to the floor and there was water everywhere, the strange thing was that no people were there, were they all just in a deep sleep not knowing their floor was becoming a swimming pool? Till today I still don’t get it, cause I know there were people staying in the rooms at that floor. After that I ran downstairs to the lobby, try to explain what was happening, but it was 3 am in the morning and no plumber around so the man at the reception gave me a key to another room on the first floor were I could continue my night sleep cause just a few hours later I had to be back up again to go to the airport to catch my flight back to sunny dry Cancun.

Traffic in Mexico City

Palace of Arts

me_in_mexicocity

Traffic in Mexico City

The Angel of Mexico City

The Angel of Mexico City

Big Flag pole with the Mexican flag at the Plaza De La Constitucion

Big Flag pole with the Mexican flag at the Plaza De La Constitucion

Plaza De La Constitucion

Plaza De La Constitucion aka “Zocalo”

Guadalupe

New Basilica with the Icon of Our Lady of Guadalupe inside

The entrance of the Museo Nacional de Antropologia

The entrance of the Museo Nacional de Antropologia

Mayan Choc Mul at the Museo Nacional

Mayan Choc Mul at the Museo Nacional

The Aztec Sun stone calendar

The Aztec Sun stone calendar

Teotihuacan

Teotihuacan

The Moon Pyramid

The Moon Pyramid

climbing the Pyramid of the sun

climbing the Pyramid of the sun

The sun pyramid in Teotihuacan is the biggest

The sun pyramid in Teotihuacan is the biggest

 

 

Leave a Reply

