Buenos Aires

I visited the capital of Argentina in february 2000 , 1 month after the crazy New Year millenium celebrations, my mind was set on travelling. For my 18th Birthday that was still to come up in may, I got an early present from my parents, they bought me a flight ticket to Buenos Aires Argentina ! Oh my God was I excited or what ! The country I support for so long in football and even in other sports like it would be my own country, finally here I have the chance to go there for a week. I was still going to school and in February I had a week off and decided to go then, cause in Argentina it was summer at the time when in Belgium it was the middle of the wintertime.
Before departure I had a heavy knee injury and had to walk on crouches for the whole time of my stay in Buenos Aires. I tried to make the best of it and actually it wasn’t that bad, at the airport in London (I was flying from Brussels through London where I had to change planes ) the airport personal saw me struggling and I was taken prior to all the others at the passport control etc,.. soon it became an advantage to me cause I didn’t had to walk, they brought me in London Heathrow to the terminal, way before all the others, a little car came to pick me up after passport control. In Argentina same good service and then I was on my own again, controlling every move and step I make in this crazy city.

What did I do in BA ?

I tried the Argentine steak with fries and some of their wines. I also tried Quilmes beer which was the sponsor at that time of the Argentinian football league and also of the topclub River Plate.

In the streets of San Telmo I saw some locals dancing the Tango, a lot of tourist were taking photos cause this is typically Argentina. It’s nice to see them perform this dance, it’s a difficult dance and it looks like art in a way, more than the Brazilian Samba where it comes down to shaking all you got, that’s just my opinion.

Caminito in La Boca is a nice place to visit, it’s very touristy with its colorfull houses.
Everywhere where you have tourists you have shops that sell souvenirs from Buenos Aires and from La Boca. Restaurants, bars and art galleries.

Every South American city has its big central square in Santiago de Chile it’s Plaza de Armes, in Lima Peru its Plaza de San Martin and in BA it’s Plaza de Mayo.
Piramide de Mayo is the central monument on the square facing the Casa Rosada (pink house) other monument is the Cabildo a former Colonial building now a museum. The Metropolitan Cathedral is the biggest church in the city.
The obelisco or obelisk is also a famous monument in the middle of a big boulevard, with heavy traffic passing by, close to all the shopping streets. It’s the real heart of BA. The same obelisk stands in Washington DC. Allot of things to see.
To escape the city I did a trip to Colonia in Uruguay, more here

Plaza De Mayo

Plaza De Mayo

Casa Rosada

Casa Rosada

Naamloos-gescand-02

Metropolitan Cathedral

Metropolitan Cathedral

El Cabildo

El Cabildo

Obelisk Monument

Obelisk Monument

Basilica San Francisco

Basilica San Francisco

Caminito colorfull houses

Caminito colorfull houses

walking in Caminito, art gallery on display outside

walking in Caminito, art gallery on display outside

 

Leave a Reply

