Peace in Greece, take a picture and say cheese !

The Acropolis with the Parthenon is one of the few Historical buildings on the European continent that I always wanted to see. I learned about the ancient Greeks in History classes at school and that must have been the reason that I wanted to see it one day.
My first visit to Greece was not to be of one of Greece ‘s many Islands, but the capital city Athens. Only a short weekendtrip, so I was limited in time but I got to see the Acropolis, the Temple of Zeus and the way of life in Greece. Athens was so many times on the news because of the Greek crisis, but when I was there in september 2014 the weather was great, life was going on in its normal way. No protests or anything like on the tv. It was a nice relaxing weekend and I was happy that there was peace in Greece.
Few months later offcourse hell broke loose in the streets of Athens, looking back at it I can’t complain cause I was there in the right time. Imagine being there and you can’t use public transportation like the metroline because strikes are going on, or you can’t withdrawal money from the bank, cause the bank is out of money. Greece will recover cause it’s a country which has allot to offer. I can say that I have been in Greece but I haven’t seen it, cause for that I will have to go back and see more of the mainland like Delphi for example and not to forget its Islands like Kreta.

Greek Parliament in Athens

Greek Parliament in Athens

guards at Parliament square

guards at Parliament square

Herodes Theater

Herodes Theater

Theater of Dionysos

Theater of Dionysos

Karyatides on Erectheion

Karyatides on Erectheion

Parthenon on the Acropolis

Parthenon on the Acropolis

Hadrians Arch

Hadrians Arch

Temple of Zeus

Temple of Zeus

Temple of Hephaistos in ancient Agora

Temple of Hephaistos in ancient Agora

View from the Acropolis on Agora

View from the Acropolis on Agora

Leave a Reply

