Stuck in Tirana

The Tour through Eastern Europe with the guys of youngpioneertours came close to an end, last stop after Sofia-Skopje,Pristina was Tirana.
Tirana wasn’t the most interesting city I have been in. My best memory would be the cheap restaurants in city centre where you can get a great meal with wine for only 5 euros or 6 dollars, oh and also the Tv Studio that I visited in the former Enver Hoxha pyramid, see picture below but part from that Tirana is a city to quickly forget, maybe visiting some other parts of Albania would be more interesting.  

The road from Pristina to Tirana takes you to mountainous landscapes, with allot of sheep and sheepherders along the road. The countryside is nice, the only strange thing is that every 500 metres you see a garage or a shop where they sell tires.
Ok so why did I almost got stuck in Tirana, cause the airline that I booked a ticket with to Brussels went Bankrupt, it was the airline Belleair. Offcourse I wasn’t informed by the company, they went bankrupt a week earlier when I was still in Sofia Bulgaria, if I would have known this then, well I could have searched for a cheap ticket to get back, instead I ended up paying 500 euros to get home. There was no flight to Brussels, only 1 seat available on a flight to London with British Airways, I managed to book this one thanks to one of my British friends who was the first to inform me about the bankruptcy of my Albanian airline. I just had the feeling nothing in this country really works, total chaos in the streets of Tirana, etc… let’s say Albania wasn’t my cup of tea, afterall I already seen the real Albania in Kosovo or didn’t I ? lol
So the flight to London costed me about 300 euros and the Eurostar another 200 euros to Brussels. I’m just glad I got out of Albania.

Tirana centre

Tirana centre

In front of the Enver Hoxha museum

In front of the Enver Hoxha museum

DSC04861

Skanderberg statue

Skanderberg statue

Mosque of Tirana

Mosque of Tirana

Albanian flag

Albanian flag

Tv Studio in the former Enver Hosha Pyramid

Tv Studio in the former Enver Hoxha Pyramid

Leave a Reply

