When I destroyed the baggage scanner in North Korea

Just arrived in North Korea and I already managed to destroy the baggage scanner at the airport. On arrival when I took my luggage and put it through the scanner, my backpack got stuck in the baggage scanner. The backpack was out of the scanner but one of the shoulder straps got stuck in the machine, the North Korean guard told me to pull it out, so I pulled like crazy, a one and a two and a three, nothing still stuck, then he helped me pulling and even with 2 still didn’t work after the first time, the second time we pulled as hard as we both could and kablamo !! my backpack destroyed, one strap was completely ripped off and the old sovjet scan machine broke. I thought I was dead meat, but I just went outside with the rest of my group got into the bus and got the f**k out of there to my hotel. Afterall It wasn’t my fault, If they would have stopped the machine, then I guess it would be easier to unleash the strap that got stuck. Anyway I bought myself a new backpack in China after my Dprk visit, so the rest of my 5 days I would be carrying my backpack with one strap left on one shoulder.

PYONGYANG

I decided to spend my vacation in the DPRK = Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea aka North Korea ! It was a special experience, going back in time. The most isolated country in the world. No Internet, no mobile phones to call outside. However in the Yanggakdo Hotel it’s possible to call to the outside world and even send an email. This hotel is at this moment the only hotel for tourists in Pyongyang, it stands on an Island in the river Taedong. When going to the DPRK that’s how North Korea is preferred to be called, you have to go with a Tour Company that works together with the State owned KITC (Korea International Travel Company) to get your visa and arrange your trip.
I went with the Youngpioneertours, but there are many other tour companies with who you can arrange your trip to North Korea, one of them is Koryo Tours.

In Pyongyang I visited Kim Il Sung Square,The people’s study house,The Kumsusan Palace and Mausoleum of Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il, The Juche Tower,The biggest Arc de Triumph in the world,etc…

Kim Il Sung Square, North Korean flag in the back

Kim Il Sung Square, North Korean flag in the back

Juche Tower

Juche Tower

Kim Ils Sung and Kim Jong Il

Kim Ils Sung and Kim Jong Il

SAM_5486

The Arch de Triumph

The Arch de Triumph

The Yangdakto Hotel on the Island

The Yangdakto Hotel on the Island

 

Meet the locals

You can take a metro ride with the locals in Pyongyang on the Pyongyang metro system doing 2 stations out of 10 in total. The 2 stations are the once tourist can go on from Revival station to Glory station. Once you come out of the metro you can take a freely walk to the Kim Il Sung Square.
There is also a theme park in Pyongyang the Kaeson Youth Park with all kinds of rides, and a great place to meet some locals.

Pyongyang metro

Pyongyang metro

IMG_1181

taking the metro in Pyongyang with the locals

taking the metro in Pyongyang with the locals

In front of the gate to the theme Park "Kaeson Youth Park"

In front of the gate to the theme Park “Kaeson Youth Park”

Map of the Theme park

Map of the Theme park

one of the attractions, a rollercoaster

one of the attractions, a rollercoaster

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

