Going from San Pedro de Atacama to Uyuni

Someone told me Bolivia is a great country in South America, and my answer to that was “I Bo li via” I really do Believe !!
I have been on a 4 day trip from San Pedro de Atacama (Chile) to Bolivia.
It’s a popular tour with jeeps that tourists book while they’re in San Pedro, you can book it in one of the many little travel agencies in San Pedro.
The tour that I did was with Cordillera Travel and I was the only one who didn’t continue to travel further into Bolivia after arriving in Uyuni at the end of the trip, I booked a tour that had to bring me back to Chile from where I had my flight back home. So that’s the 4 day trip, most people do the 3 day trip to continue onward travel in Bolivia to Potosi or La Paz.
Maybe some other time I will go back to Bolivia to see some more of the country, but I’m really happy of what I have seen already, beautiful landscapes like the Siloli desert with crazy rock formations, the Laguna Verde, Laguna Honda and some other altiplano lakes and offcourse the amazing Salt flats of Uyuni with Cactus Island (Incahuasi Island).
Also on this tour was the train graveyard, old rusty trains abandoned in the middle of the desert.
In San Pedro I bought enough snacks for the road, 5 liters of water cause when going on high altitude  you need to drink allot and rented a sleeping bag for the cold nights in the desert, cause the sleeping places down the road are very basic so you need a sleeping bag. Make sure to take tablets against altitude sickness cause you will be going up to 5000 m above sea level. To my surprise I only had a light headache and didn’t had to use any tablets. The next day my headache was over and my body was adjusted to the high altitude.

Ready to go ! Bolivia here I am

Ready to go ! Bolivia here I am

my jeep 4X4

my jeep 4×4

DSC05002

Arbol de Piedra

Siloli desert with it's crazy rock formations

Siloli desert with it’s crazy rock formations

Laguna Colorada

Laguna Colorada with it’s Flamingo’s

Laguna Honda

Laguna Honda

Laguna Verde

Laguna Verde

The basic lodging in the Uyuni Salt hotel

The basic lodging in the Uyuni Salt hotel

Uyuni Salt Flats

Uyuni Salt Flats

DSC02289 DSC02269 DSC05041 IMG_2544

Incahuasi Island aka Cactus Island in the middle of the Uyuni Slat Flats

Incahuasi Island aka Cactus Island in the middle of the Uyuni Slat Flats

DSC05028 IMG_2531

train graveyard

train graveyard

IMG_2546

DSC05016

Leave a Reply

