Chile

SAN PEDRO DE ATACAMA

On my trip to Chile in 2014 I visited San Pedro de Atacama, Santiago the capital and Easter Island.
San Pedro de Atacama is the driest place on earth.
San Pedro itself is a small town in the Atacama desert, it does not have a airport, the nearest airport is in Calama about 100km away. I took a domestic flight from Santiago to Calama to eventually get to San Pedro. I arrived there and I directly left Atacama the next day for Bolivia where I did a 4 day trip to Uyuni. After that trip I got back to Atacama for a few days to spend some time in the old town and visit the area around, so I did a trip to the Moon valley.

San Pedro de Atacama church

San Pedro de Atacama church

IMG_2560

The Moon Valley

The Moon Valley

DSC05071 DSC05054

DSC05058

The 3 Maria's rock formations

The 3 Maria’s rock formations, except the one on the left is called Pac Man from the videogame

SANTIAGO

In Santiago de Chili, the oficial name of Chile’s capital my visit was a very short one, I don’t have much fotos, the famous Plaza de Armes was under construction. It wasn’t very interesting spending much time in the city when so many construction works were going on, after a few hours in the city I took a bus to the airport as my holiday in South America came to end.

The Flag of Chile

The Flag of Chile

Palacio de la Moneda

Palacio de la Moneda

Palacio de la Real Audiencia at the Plaza de Armes

Palacio de la Real Audiencia at the Plaza de Armes

IMG_2579

Former National Congres building of Chile

 

Leave a Reply

